In the presence of Cuban Culture Minister Abel Prieto and the
President of the Cuban Book Institute Zuleika Romay, the most important awarding ceremony for Cuban historians took place in the Nicolas Guillen room of the Morro-Cabaña Park.

PhD. Francisca Lopez Civeira, president of the jury, explained that
the decision to grant the Prize to Hidalgo was unanimous because the researcher has dedicated most of his life to studying Jose Marti and in particular for his research on allhistorical processes in which the Cuban Apostle played a key role.

During the ceremony, the 8th Jose Luciano Franco Prize to Historical Critique was conferred to the work “History of the Sauto Theater,” by Daneris Fernandez Fonseca.

Likewise the 13th Ramiro Guerra Prize to Historical Critique in the
category of essay was granted to PhD Olga Portuondo Zuñiga for her work: “Cuba: Constitution and Liberalism (1808-1841),” and in the section of Biography, the prize was given to “The Maximo Gomez Family,” by Antonio Alvarez Pitaluga.

Both the Jose Luciano Franco and the Ramiro Guerra prizes were created to acknowledge annually the best books on the topic, issued by territorial and national publishing houses.

The National History Prize was created in 1995 and two years later it was first granted to Hortensia Pichardo and Julio Le Riverend.

Cuban Agency News
La Agencia Cubana de Noticias (ACN) es una división de la Agencia de Información Nacional (AIN) de Cuba fundada el 21 de mayo de 1974.

Cuban News Agency