NATO has accepted that five states be considered «observers» and benefit from an office at the Alliance headquarters.

They are - Bahreïn, Israël, Jordan, Qatar and Kuwait.

The Emirates do not seem to have wished for their own office.

The announcement was held up by the Turco-Israëli negotiations, and published on the 4th May 2016, on the occasion of the investiture of the new Supreme Allied Commander Europe (SACEUR), General Curtis M. Scaparrotti.

Pete Kimberley