Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Hungary and Romania have reached an agreement with Israel to defend its positions in the heart of the European Union.

On 18 January 2016, these five European states got together and ordered the European Ministers of Foreign Affairs to withdraw any reference that was critical of Israel from a text of a final communiqué of their monthly summit.

Days later, on 29 January, Cyprus, Greece and Israel reached an agreement to construct a gasoduct and to export gas to the European Union. This implies a complete reversal of the policy of Cyprus and Greece, initiated by the Greek Prime Minister, Alexis Tsipras.

 “Cyprus - Israel - Greece Trilateral Summit Declaration”, Voltaire Network, 28 January 2016.
 “Birth of a Geopolitical Bloc: The Israel-Greece-Cyprus Axis”, Haaretz, January 31, 2016.

Anoosha Boralessa