The Interim Transitional National Council (The Council) held its first meeting on Saturday 5
March 2011 in the city of Benghazi, the temporary Headquarter, till the liberation of Tripoli, the
Capital City and the permanent Headquarter of the Government.

The Council derives its legitimacy from the city councils which run the liberated cities, and
which had been formed by the revolutionists of the 17th February to safeguard the
revolutionary gains and achieve their goals. The Council meeting had been chaired by Mr.
Mustafa Abduljaleel and attended by:

1. Mr. Othman Suleiman El-Meguerhi (Batnan Area)
2. Mr. Ashour Hamed Bourashed (Derna City)
3. Dr. Abdelallah Moussa El-Myehoub (Gouba Area)
4. Mr. Zubiar Ahmed El-Sharif (Representative of political prisoners)
5. Mr. Ahmad Abdrabah Al-Abaar (Benghazi City)
6. Mr. Dr. Fathi Mohamed Baja (Benghazi City)
7. Mr. Abdelhafed Abdelkader Ghoga (Benghazi City)
8. Mr. Fathi Tirbil and Dr. Salwa Fawzi El-Deghali (Representatives of Youth and Women)

The Council adopted the following outcome:

1. The Council emphasizes that the most important role has been played by the young
people and constitutes the base and foundation of our absolute determination to
achieve the goal of putting an end to the dictatorial regime. Therefore, their effective
presence in the Council is the genuine expression for the movement of the youth
revolution throughout Libya.

2. The Council declares that it is the sole national representative of Libya with all its social
and political strata and all its geographical regions. Its membership is open to all Libyans
and so far has received the names of
the members of the following cities: Ajdabia, Misurata, Zentan, Zawya, Zwara, Nalout,
El-Jabel El-Gharbi (West Mountain), Gaat and Kufra. The names will not be declared for
safety reasons till the liberation of all parts of Libya. The Council is waiting for the
names of delegations from Tripoli, the South Region and the Middle Region of Libya to
join it.

3. The Council chooses Mr. Omar El-Hariri as its member for managing the Military Affairs
for the safety and security of Libya.

4. The Council also declares the formation of an Executive Team to manage the crisis, deal
with the current situation and the outside world, headed by Dr. Mahmoud Jibreel
Ibrahim El-Werfali and, Dr. Ali Aziz Al-Eisawi as the representative of the Foreign affairs
of Libya. The Council declares that there will be more members to the Executive Team
to run the main and vital sectors of the country after further discussions between the
head of the Executive Team and The Council.

The Council delegates Dr. Mahmoud Jebril and Dr. Ali Al-Esawi the right to negotiate and
communicate with all members of the international community to accomplish international
recognition of The Council, and both members have the right to take all the necessary measures
to reach this goal.

The Council affirms that the Heads of the Libyan Missions to the UN, the Arab League, the
International and Regional organizations as well as members of the Libyan embassies and
Diplomatic Missions who joined the revolution are considered legitimate representatives of the
Council. The other representatives of the fallen regime should take the above stance.

Finally, even though the balance of power is uneven between the defenseless protesters and
the tyrant regime’s mercenaries and private battalions, we will relay on the will of our people
for a free and dignified existence. Furthermore, we request from the international community
to fulfill its obligations to protect the Libyan people from any further genocide and crimes
against humanity without any direct military intervention on the Libyan soil.

Long live Libya, free and unite