Cuba demanded its exclusion from the list of States described by the US administration as sponsors of terrorism, in a declaration issued by the Cuban Foreign Ministry.

The note rates as unfair, arbitrary, and contradictory the US decision with regards to the Caribbean island’s exemplary stance in the anti-terror fight, and ratifies the condemnation of all acts of terrorism.

It thus replied to control measures the US Transportation Security Administration began implementing on passengers from countries rated as "sponsors of international terrorism" by the US Department of State.

These States include Cuba, Iran, Syria, Sudan, Afghanistan, Algeria, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, and Yemen.

The document rejects the mechanism through which Washington arrogates the right to certify other nations’ stance, and issues selective lists while adopting a doble standard position by allowing those responsible for violent acts against Cuba remain free in its territory.

Meanwhile, Cuban anti-terrorists Gerardo Hernandez, Fernando Gonzalez, Ramon Labanino, Antonio Guerrero, and Rene Gonzalez (The Cuban Five) are serving arbitrary, unfair sentences in US jails for warning on terror acts against Cuba.

Cuba, the declaration sustains, has always had a commendable role in the anti-terror fight, and ratifies the national territory has never been used, nor will be ever used to organize or execute violent acts against any country, including the US.

The Caribbean island is signatory of the 13 international deals on the anti-terror fight, and strictly complies with the obligations included in resolutions 1267, 1373, and 1540 of the UN Security Council.

The MINREX declaration urges the US government to act strongly and without doble standards against those who have perpetrated terror acts against Cuba from US territory, as expression of its commitment with the fight against terrorism.