Voltaire Network

The International Court of Justice, the judicial arm of the UN, declares that London and Washington are illegally occupying the base of Diego Garcia‎


The International Court of Justice sitting in the Hague reached the decision that the British faked the independence of the current Republic of Mauritius in 1968, by illegally dissociating the Archipelago of Chagos illegally from it. ‎ Responding to the UN General Assembly’s request filed on 22 June 2017, the International Court of Justice declared on 25 February 2019, that the process of decolonization (1965 - 1968) violated relevant General Assembly Resolutions, specifically Resolution 1514 which prohibits the dismembering of a territory that must be decolonized.‎

After surrendering the Archipelago of Chagos to the United States in 1966, the United Kingdom expelled the people of these islands - some 1800 persons – to Mauritius and the Seychelles. Right now this archipelago, thus “cleansed” of its native population, is home to a US naval base – the famous base of Diego Garcia, in the island of the same name – and a base for intercepting global communications. The latter is part of the ECHELON network belonging to the “Five Eyes” [1]. ‎

The ICJ had ruled that the UK’s financial compensation to the displaced peoples of the Archipelago of Chagos cannot compensate for this loss of sovereignty. ‎

The UN General Assembly is now called to establish the terms under which the Archipelago of Chagos will be returned to the Republic of Mauritius.

Anoosha Boralessa

[1] The Five Eyes, is the name of the intelligence alliance agreed between Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Voltaire Network

Voltaire, international edition

Article licensed under Creative Commons

The articles on Voltaire Network may be freely reproduced provided the source is cited, their integrity is respected and they are not used for commercial purposes (license CC BY-NC-ND).

Support Voltaire Network

You visit this website to seek quality analysis that enables you to forge your own understanding of today’s world. In order to continue our work, we need you to support our efforts.
Help us by making a contribution.

How to participate in Voltaire Network?

The members of our team are all volunteers.
- Professional-level mother-tongue translators: you can help us by translating our articles.